Roy Nelson Punches Me in the Face

It seemed like a good idea at the time.  During our pre-fight interviews before the IFL’s show in Las Vegas, we asked some fighters to demonstrate their favorite moves.  After a brief discussion, it was decided that I would the demonstration dummy for these.  It made for an interesting day, especially when Matt Horwich put me in something called a “ninjaplata”, which I suspect he made it up on the spot.

I wasn’t crazy about Roy Nelson’s idea to demonstrate an overhand right on me, but it worked out okay.  He stopped just short of hitting me, though just hearing him describe how he liked to target his punch on the back corner of a man’s jaw made me a little uneasy.  I mean, that just sounds unpleasant.

Anyway, here’s the video demonstration of “Big Country” doing the overhand right, plus a look at how he put it to work against Antoine Jaoude.

3 Comments

Filed under IFL, MMA, Roy Nelson, Sports

3 responses to “Roy Nelson Punches Me in the Face

  1. Ben, you were great in that. Truly.

    But…next time you should have Big Country from the IFL go against Big Country from the NBA. (http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/basketball/nba/news/2001/07/04/sayitaintso_grizzlies/reeves_all.jpg)

    You could also have Anderson the Spider Silva from UFC go up against Spider from the Wire.

    If you do this, you will get fired. Then we can hang out more?

  2. The Fighting Life

    Thanks Spencer. At first, I struggled to find my motivation for that scene. Then I found it. Turns out it was fear.

  3. That was awesome, thanks for sharing it. So, when can we see the ninjaplata? And does it involve Tohojutsu?

Leave a Reply

